Local Information & Links

Click link in red to jump down to relevant section:

Accommodation

There are more places to stay than in this list. For more, check the site  www.lakewanaka.co.nz
Note: updated October 2017

Budget

Mountain View Backpackers ($33 upwards) www.mtnview.co.nz
(03) 443 9010
Matterhorn South ($28 upwards) www.matterhornsouth.co.nz
(03) 443 1119
Wanaka Bakpaka ($26 upwards) www.wanakabakpaka.co.nz
(03) 443 7837
Flying Kiwi Backpackers ($29 upwards) www.flying-kiwi-backpackers.co.nz
(03) 443 6723
Mt Aspiring Holiday Park ($20 (tent) $55 (cabin) upwards) www.mtaspiringholidaypark.co.nz
(05) 08926252
Lake Outlet Holiday Park ($18 (tent) $55 (cabin) www.lakeoutlet.co.nz
(03) 443 7478
Albert Town Campground (QLDC) no power Cutha River, Highway 6
(03) 443 7883
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park ($45 (tent) $47 upwards (van site no power)  $84 upwards (cabins) www.wanakakiwiholidaypark.co.nz
(03) 443 7766

Mid Range

Aspiring Lodge Motel ($99 upwards) http://www.aspiringmotel.co.nz
(03) 443 7816
Edgewater Resort ($160 upwards) www.edgewater.co.nz
(03) 443 0011

Bed and Breakfast/Homestay

Wanaka Luxury Apartments ($179 upwards) www.wla.co.nz
(03) 443 4943

Luxury lodge

Te Wanaka Lodge ($220 upwards) www.tewanaka.co.nz
(03) 443 9224
Lime Tree Lodge ($375 upwards) www.limetreelodge.co.nz
(03) 443 7305
Whare Kea Lodge ($4600 upwards) www.wharekealodge.com
(03) 443 1400

Transportation

Car rental companies usually deliver car to your accommodation or you can uplift at the airport.
Rates are based on a one day hire.  You can get cheap rates for multi day (+3 days).

Wanaka and Queenstown ONE day car rentals.

Ritchies Coachlines $35 one way www.alpineconnexions.co.nz
(03) 433 9120
Wanaka Rentacar from $45 per day www.wanakarentacar.co.nz
(03) 443 6641
Network Rental cars from $50 per day www.networkcarrentals.co.nz
(0800) 427 055
Apex Car rentals from $48 per day www.apexrentals.co.nz
(0800) 500 660
Ace Rental Cars from $34 per day www.acerentals.co.nz
(0800) 502 277
New Zealand Rent a Car from $65 per day www.nzrentacar.co.nz
(0800) 80 09 56
Discount Rentals, $35 per day www.discountrentals.co.nz
(0800) 16 17 16

Private transfer

Yellow taxis

www.yello.co.nz

0800 443 5555

Shuttle Buses

ex: Queenstown to Wanaka return for a half day trip

Ritchies                                                                  www.alpinecoachlines.co.nz
Stray www.straytravel.com

Wanaka

Wanaka offers heaps of attractions and activities! Check out the list below for summertime options. We are happy to book activities and can advise on the best options, from relaxed and passive to active and adrenaline-pumping.  E-mail us at trips@deepcanyon.co.nz.

Wanaka Hot links

Cinema Paradiso www.paradiso.net.nz

Other Useful Links

Wanaka – Upcoming Events Calendar click here
Department of Conservation www.doc.govt.nz