Local Information & Links

Click link in red to jump down to relevant section:

Accommodation

There are more places to stay than in this list. For more, check the site  www.lakewanaka.co.nz
Note: updated December 2016

Budget

Hollys Backpackers ($25 upwards) www.hollys-backpacker.co.nz
(03) 443 8187
Mountain View Backpackers ($30 upwards) www.mtnview.co.nz
(03) 443 9010
Matterhorn South ($28 upwards) www.matterhornsouth.co.nz
(03) 443 1119
Wanaka Bakpaka ($26 upwards) www.wanakabakpaka.co.nz
(03) 443 7837
Flying Kiwi Backpackers ($29 upwards) www.flying-kiwi-backpackers.co.nz
(03) 443 6723
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park ($20 (tent) $55 (cabin) upwards) www.wanakalakeview.co.nz
(03) 443 7883
Top Ten Holiday Park ($40 (tent) $70 (cabin) upwards) www.wanakatop10.co.nz
(03) 443 7360
Lake Outlet Holiday Park ($16 (tent) $50 (cabin) www.lakeoutlet.co.nz
(03) 443 7478
Zula Lodge (Albert Town ($33 upwards) www.zulalodge.co.nz
(03) 443 9487
Albert Town Campground (QLDC) no power Cutha River, Highway 6
(03) 443 7883
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park (Van site no power $25 upwards, Cabins $65 upwards) www.wanakakiwiholidaypark.co.nz
(03) 443 7766

Mid Range

Peak Sport Chalet ($145 upwards) www.peak-sportchalet.co.nz
(03) 443 6990
Aspiring Lodge Motel ($105 upwards) www.aspiringlodge.co.nz
(03) 443 7816
Brookvale Motel ( $132 upwards) www.brookvale.co.nz
(03) 443 8333
Wanaka Heights Accommodation ($125 upwards) www.wanakaheightsmotel.co.nz
(03) 443 1944
Edgewater Resort ($190 upwards) www.edgewater.co.nz
(03) 443 0011

Bed and Breakfast/Homestay

Wanaka Luxury Apartments ($189 upwards) www.wla.co.nz
(03) 443 4943

Luxury lodge

Te Wanaka Lodge ($220 upwards) www.tewanaka.co.nz
(03) 443 9224
Wanaka Homestead ($195 upwards) www.wanakahomestead.co.nz
(03) 443 5022
Wanaka Springs Lodge ($295 upwards) www.wanakasprings.com
(03) 443 8421
Lime Tree Lodge ($350 upwards) www.limetreelodge.co.nz
(03) 443 7305
RiverRun Lodge ($380 upwards) www.riverrun.co.nz
(03) 443 9049
Whare Kea Lodge ($792 upwards) www.wharekealodge.com
(03) 443 1400

Transportation

Car rental companies usually deliver car to your accommodation or you can uplift at the airport.
Rates are based on a one day hire.  You can get cheap rates for multi day (+3 days).

Wanaka and Queenstown ONE day car rentals.

Alpine Coachlines and Car Rentals from $25 per day www.alpineconnexions.co.nz
(03) 433 9120
Wanaka Rentacar from $39 per day www.wanakarentacar.co.nz
(03) 443 6641
Network Rental cars from $50 per day www.networkcarrentals.co.nz
(0800) 427 055
Omega Rental cars from $35 per day www.omegarentalcars.com
(0800) 52 52 10
Apex Car rentals from $56 per day www.apexrentals.co.nz
(0800) 500 660
Ace Rental Cars from $35 per day www.acerentals.co.nz
(0800) 502 277
Avis Rent a Car $85 per day www.avis.co.nz
(0800) 65 51 11
New Zealand Rent a Car from $35 per day www.nzrentacar.co.nz
(0800) 80 09 56
Discount Rentals, enquire for day rate. www.discountrentals.co.nz
(0800) 16 17 16
Thrifty Car Rentals  $44 per day www.thrifty.co.nz
(0800) 73 70 70

Multi (only) day Car rentals

Usave Car Rentals $59 per day ChCh www.hirecar.co.nz
(0508) 11 22 33
Spaceship Van Rentals $30 and upward per day ChCh www.spaceshipsrentals.co.nz
(0800) 772 237
Able Rentals from $19 per day Qtn www.ablerentals.co.nz
(03) 441 1055

Private transfer

Yellow taxis

www.yello.co.nz

0800 443 5555

Shuttle Buses

ex: Queenstown to Wanaka return for a half day trip

Atomic Shuttles – Ph (03) 349 0697
Depart Qtn 8.10 a.m. The Station.
Arrive 9.45 a.m. i-site, Wanaka Cost $20+ one way
www.atomictravel.co.nz
Wanaka Connextions-  Ph (03) 443 9120
Last Dep Wanaka 3.45p.m. Arrive Q.Town 5p.m. Must book. Cost $25 one way.
www.alpinecoachlines.co.nz
Connectabus- Ph 0800 405 066. Departs Wnk 4.30p.m. Arriv Qtn 6.15p.m.  $35 one way. www.connectabus.com
Naked Bus
Depart Wanaka i-site daily to Queenstown
www.nakedbus.com
Stray- New Zealand Backpaker bus www.straytravel.com

Flights to Wanaka

Wanaka Airport is a 10 min drive from the Wanaka town centre.  Flights arrive from Christchurch daily.   Queenstown airport has domestic and international flights.  www.airnz.co.nz
Fixed wing scenic flights www.flightseeing.co.nz
www.southernalpsair.co.nz
Helicopter scenic flights www.wanakahelicopters.co.nz
www.alpineheli.co.nz
www.aspiringhelicopters.co.nz

Wanaka

Wanaka offers heaps of attractions and activities! Check out the list below for summertime options. We are happy to book activities and can advise on the best options, from relaxed and passive to active and adrenaline-pumping.  E-mail us at trips@deepcanyon.co.nz.

Summer Adventure Activities

Canyoning www.deepcanyon.co.nz
Mountain Biking www.bikewanaka.org.nz
River Sledging www.frogz.co.nz
Paragliding www.wanakaparagliding.co.nz
Rockclimbing www.wanakarock.co.nz
Via Ferrata www.wildwire.co.nz
Sailing www.sailwanaka.co.nz
Horse Rides www.backcountrysaddles.co.nz
Rafting www.ecoraft.co.nz
Fishing www.hatchfishing.co.nz
Mountaineering www.aspiringguides.com
Sky Diving www.skydivewanaka.com
Jet Boating www.wanakariverjourneys.co.nz
Car Touring www.alpineclasstours.co.nz
Transport to Mt Aspiring National Park www.alpinecoachlines.co.nz
Adventure booking agent & itinerary planning trips@deepcanyon.co.nz

Weather

Metvuw Click for link
Met Service Click for link

New Zealand Map Search

Click for link

Wanaka Hot links

Cinema Paradiso www.paradiso.net.nz
Mt Aspiring National Park www.doc.govt.nz/parks-and-recreation/national-parks/mount-aspiring

Canyoning Abroad

Spain- Exploraguies www.exploraguies.com

Other Useful Links

Wanaka – Upcoming Events Calendar click here
Tourism NZ Queenstown www.queenstownnz.co.nz
Customer travel reviews www.tripadvisor.com
NZ Backpacker board www.backpackerboard.co.nz
100% Pure New Zealand www.newzealand.com
Luxury Adventures www.luxuryadventures.co.nz
First Light Travel- experiential tourism click here
New Zealand Tourism On Line www.tourism.net.nz
North Island Canyoning www.canyonz.co.nz
Routeburn Canyon click here
Australian Canyoning Blue Mountains NSW www.highandwild.com.au
Haka Tours- NZ touring from the extreme to the sedate www.hakatours.com
Southern Lakes travel site www.southernlakes.org
Jasons New Zealand Travel Site www.jasons.co.nz
Active New Zealand www.activenewzealand.com
Northanger Sailing Expeditions www.northanger.org
Jet Star www.jetstar.com.au
Air New Zealand www.airnewzealand.co.nz